Free

I opened my eyes to the sun barley peeking its head over the horizon. I rolled down all the windows and lay back in my seat.

It was peaceful.

No pressure. No expectations.

The air was perfect. It softly swept in and out my windows touching my nose, eyelids, lips, as if saying, “Everything will be ok.”

At that moment I felt absolutely free. It was just my car and I sitting on the side of an empty road in utter silence. My car was my only friend. My loyal companion. The only one who understood me and was here to venture out on this journey with me – no questions asked.

My moment of peace ended quickly when I realized my battery had died.

I don’t know why, but I wasn’t necessarily panicked. It didn’t matter. Anything could happen now so it was ok to me. I would figure it out. I was open to change, chaos- wherever the road would take me. I was actually embracing it and it felt good. Really, really good.

I had accidently left my phone in my room at home before the graduation and I didn’t even think to go back and get it at the time I unexpectedly left the ceremony. Looking back, I don’t know if I would have anyway. I really didn’t want anyone to be able to get a hold of me. How could I truly be away from everything with a cell a phone? I often wonder if I had had my phone how much different my journey would have gone. I now know it was perfectly meant to be.

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/state-of-mind/

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/five-items/

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/longing-for-gravity/

3 thoughts on “Free

Leave a Reply

